Important Changes Are Being Made to the Nurse Licensure Compact, or NLC, That You Need to be Aware Of

Posted 11/16/2017

Attention to all nurses who hold a multi-state license under the Nursing Licensure Compact. On January 19, 2018, the existing Nursing Licensure Compact will change to the enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC).


Nurse Licensure Compact Changes FAQ’s

What is going on with the Nurse Licensure Compact?

The original Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) is evolving to the new and improved Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). This will mean some changes regarding which states are included.

When is the eNLC happening? 

The new compact, known as Enhanced Nurses Licensure Compact (eNLC), was enacted on July 20, 2017, but, more importantly, for you, the implementation or “go live” date for eNLC going into effect is midnight on January 19, 2018.

What about the original compact (NLC)?

All states that passed legislation to be a part of the new compact (eNLC) will join it and be active effective January 19, 2018. All states that did not pass legislation, but are current (old NLC) compact members, stay a compact among themselves. Currently, these states are: Colorado, Wisconsin (pending legislation), New Mexico, and Rhode Island.

Which states are members of the (eNLC)? 

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Which states are new to join the compact (eNLC)?

Wyoming, Oklahoma, West Virginia, Georgia, and Florida.

Which states have pending legislation they hope to pass before January 19, 2018?

Massachusetts, New Jersey, Michigan, and Wisconsin — these states are not yet part of the eNLC, but hope to pass their legislation before January 19, 2018.

What about my license?

  • If you received an NLC multistate license before July 20, 2017, from a state that has already joined eNLC, you are grandfathered into the new program and nothing further is required from you at this time. You will be able to practice in any of the 26 eNLC states.
  • If you received your NLC multistate license after July 20, 2017, you will need to apply for a new eNLC multistate license. Follow the steps for your state of residency. Each of the states which were part of NLC and will also be part of eNLC should be sending info on how to stay compact and if they will be offering a grace period to become compliant. Timeframes for this may vary by state.
  • If you have an NLC single state license but are interested in applying for the new eNLC multistate license, follow the steps for your state of residency.
  • If you are in a state that was not part of the original NLC but will be part of the new eNLC, you will be required to meet the new eNLC requirements. Each of these states (new to the eNLC: WY, OK, WV, GA, and FL) should be sending out info on how to become compact.
  • If you do not have an NLC multistate license but are interested in applying for the new eNLC, follow the steps for your state of residency.
  • If you have an NLC multistate license from RI, NM, CO, or WI you will only be able to use your license in these four states going forward. If you want to practice in any of the eNLC states, you will need to obtain in-state licensure in that state. (Pending any legislative changes before January 19, 2018)


Stay current on the progress of any state by checking the NCSBN website. Be sure to educate yourself on the changes so you can have your licensing requirements taken care of well in advance.  This will ease your transition from assignment to assignment.

Questions? Your FlexRN Recruiter or Staffing Specialist Can Help!

Related Post

Posted 6/5/2018

The Value of a FlexRN Recruiter

The first Tuesday each year in June has been designated as National Healthcare Recruiter Recognition Day! If you are a nurse with FlexRN, you know how valuable a recruiter can be. Nurse… Read more »